Monthly Archives: May 2015

Wicked Ride (Realm Enforcers Book 1) by Rebecca Zanetti

About the Book:

This is the first book in Rebecca’s Realm Enforcers Series. If you like paranormal romance, then definitely pick up this book.

“Alexandra Monzelle is a hard-fighting, heat-packing Seattle vice cop, and she’s not much interested in being protected. Her short skirt and sex-kitten heels are tools to lure her suspects into talking about the deadly new drug hitting the streets. She can take care of herself and then some. Unfortunately, she can’t seem to get that through to Kellach Dunne.

Kellach is a fresh import from Dublin, and he’s landed at the heart of a vicious motorcycle club that deals in guns, narcotics, and mayhem. He’s all male, all rough power—and all interference in her damn investigation. Maybe he’s one of the good guys. Maybe not. Lex knows an affair with an immortal like him would risk everything. No matter how delicious he looks…”

 My Five Star Review:

This series is going to be amazing!!!!! I was lucky enough to receive an advanced reader copy.  Wicked Ride will be released on June 23, 2015.

This was an amazing first book in the spin off series Dark Protectors by Rebecca. The writing is spectacular, the story is well defined and the characters of course keep you engaged the entire book. I would recommend reading the Dark Protector series before you read this one.  Many of your favorites from that series show up in this one.  The King Dage, Garrett (Talen’s son), Garrett’s friend Logan (Zane’s brother) and even a visit from a Mother.  Also, there is background information in the DP series that would be very helpful to know when reading this one.

Wicked Ride is Kellach and Alexandra’s story. We first meet Kell, a witch, in the Dark Protector series. He is an enforcer and protector of the Coven Nine (as you can probable guess they are a coven of witches). He is sent to Seattle on a case and runs right into little human warrior Cop Alexandra. They butt heads quite a bit, in this action packed book and of course fall for each other.

In true Rebecca style, she leaves you with wanting more story and more characters at the end of this book. I very much look forward to the next book in this series Wicked Edge releasing on November 10, 2015.

Find Rebecca here:

Pre-order link here:

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

About the Book:

This is a Contemporary Romance written in the first person.

“When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she doesn’t think it’s love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.
Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.”

My Four Star Review:

I’m not a big fan of first person writing because I always feel like I’m missing out on the other characters point of view but Colleen is definitely changing my mind.  There are two main characters, Tate and Miles, and each alternating chapter is written from their point of view.  This book has intrigue, suspense and a few tears to go along with it.  At one point I wanted to smack Miles in the head but in the next second you just want to pull him into your arms and hug him.  To me, this book is Miles emotional, tortured journey and you just know it has to end with something amazing.

At the very beginning of the book Tate arrives at her brother’s apartment to find a very drunk man sitting in front of the door.  When Tate’s brother Corbin (also a pilot) says, “I kind of need you to do me a huge favor.” I was hooked and could not put the book down. Like many of Colleen’s books, the characters are in their early to middle 20’s and experiencing the “struggles” associated with life. This book is a fast easy read and definitely worth your time.

If you are a book movie person, you will be happy to know Ugly Love the Movie will be coming out in 2016.  Link to Movie teaser is below.

Find Colleen Hoover here:

Amazon Link:

Marshal of Hel Dorado (Fevered Hearts) by Heather Long

About the Book:

This is the first book in Heather’s Fevered Hearts series.  To me it’s a Historical Western Romance with a little paranormal thrown in.

“In the shadows of the Old West, that untamed land, live bands of outlaws and outsiders. In a time when fevers could fell whole towns, these few survivors are marked. Marked…and forever changed.
Sam Kane is the oldest brother, the steadfast son and the confident marshal. He’s never met a problem too hot to handle until a gang behind a string of robberies across the territory set their sights on his town. Now with the bank’s gold inexplicably missing from a locked safe, the town hunting the elusive thieves and a passionate redhead with a fiery secret in his jail, Sam has his hands full.
Scarlett Morning Star lived in seclusion in the mountains of West Texas most of her life. She longs for adventure, but with seven very protective older brothers, adventure is hard to come by. When she tags along uninvited on their latest escapade, she is left behind during a bank robbery and finds herself in the custody of the very sexy town marshal.
The town wants to lynch her, the Marshal wants answers and her brothers want her back, can Scarlett keep it together or will her explosive secret burn them all?
Her life. His badge. Their fight.”

My Five Star Review:

From the very first chapter, I was drawn in hook, line and sinker.  Marshal Sam Kane is a take-charge don’t-mess-with-my-town kind of guy but then in walks, or I should say rides, fiery red haired Scarlett Morning Star.  The story around these two main characters and several secondary characters is brilliant, creative, emotional and adventurous.  It amazes me how an author’s mind can create such an engaging world.   As with a typical romance novel, there is a happily ever after but it’s not without some serious twists, turns and secrets.  This is the kind of book you can’t put down.  Each turn of the page makes you want to read faster so you can find out what’s around the next corner.

You MUST read this series in order.  Each book “ends” (and it’s in quotes because it doesn’t really end) for the main couple but the story keeps on moving forward throughout each book.  Main characters and secondary characters make a wonderful reappearance and new characters are introduced.  Take my word for it, you will ABSOLUTELY love this series!!!

Reading order:

Marshal of Hel Dorado (Book 1)

Brave are the Lonely (Book 2)

Micah and Mr. Miller (Book 3)

A Fistful of Dreams (Book 4)

Raising Kane (Book 5)

Wanted Fevered or Alive (Book 6)

Wild and Fevered (Book 6.5)

The Quick and the Fevered (Book 7)

Book 8 – Coming Soon.

Find Heather Here: