A Way With You by Lane Hayes. Happy Release Day! #giveaway

Happy Release Day to Lane Hayes and her second novel in her A Way With series, A Way with You. 

Recommended for readers 18 years and older.

A Way with You Banner

Synopsis

Reeve Nelson is determined to make it in Manhattan. He’s hardworking, dedicated and willing to put in the extra hours required to be successful at his new job at a prestigious real estate firm in the city. There’s no way he’s going back to small-town living and an ex-girlfriend who won’t let go. But his boss isn’t making it easy.

Leo Rodriguez enjoys his reputation as a ruthless businessman. He’s a lone wolf who’s scraped his way from the gutter to rebuild his life and launch a distinguished career on his terms. When an opportunity to expand in the market comes up, Leo wants the eager new agent with a sense of wonder on the project. But nothing goes quite as planned. Reeve expected to be intimidated and overwhelmed by Leo, however, the explosive mutual attraction and fierce desire between them is a big surprise. Neither man is looking for love and yet, something special just might happen if they can find their way…together.

Excerpt

Yeah, this was my idea but I wasn’t prepared to be this close to Leo again. His mere presence overwhelmed me. He smelled so good. I wanted to bury my nose in the collar of his button-down shirt and just…breathe. I told myself Leo was a regular guy like every other guy here, but truthfully, he wasn’t the least bit ordinary. Even in executive chic, Leo turned more heads than the shirtless bartenders. And when he smiled at the young man next to me who offered him his stool, he added another admirer to his list.

I’d never been around anyone who changed the temperature in a room simply by entering it the way he did. It wasn’t his appearance either. His height and sharp sense of style might garner a second glance, but his true appeal was innate. It was in the way he spoke and moved. He didn’t mince words or waste time. He was concise and direct and acted with purpose. I got the impression Leo Rodriguez had a reason for everything he did, including wanting to meet with me.

Leo perched on the vacated stool and then hooked his thumb at me when I didn’t reply. “He’ll have a martini too.”

“No. I mean, yes. But with olives, please. No onions.” I thanked the bartender then swiveled to face Leo, accidentally bumping his knee.

I muttered a quick apology and cautioned myself to pull it together. Leo wasn’t my boss anymore, for fuck’s sake. I just wished he didn’t make me so anxious.

Commence the nervous chatter.

“Onions? No one orders onions,” I snorted. “And vodka-soaked onions are especially gross.”

Leo’s lip curled on one side like a pirate. “When was the last time you had a vodka-soaked onion?”

“Uh…well, never,” I admitted with a frown. “But it sounds gross.”

“Chocolate covered scorpions and braised frog legs are gross. Onions aren’t in the same zip code.”

I made a face and shivered. “Have you actually eaten those things?”

“Yeah, and actually, they’re not so bad. Chocolate hides the taste of anything, even insects, and frog legs taste like chicken. But you never know unless you try.”

“No thanks.”

Leo tsked playfully. “You have big opinions, a big mouth, and a hot temper, Nelson. No wonder I like you.” He nodded his thanks when the bartender delivered our cocktails then raised his glass in a mock toast. “To onions.”

“Onions?”

“We sure as fuck ain’t drinkin’ to olives,” he quipped.

I chuckled at his comedic expression then sipped my martini while I wracked my brain for a non-confrontational topic of conversation to stall the inevitable one.

“What do you have against olives?” Weak. But it was better than nothing, and Leo seemed willing to play along.

“Nothing. It’s a texture thing. I don’t eat them if I can help it but I love olive oil. And tapenade is cool as long as those little suckers are chopped really fine. Otherwise, olives are a hard pass for me. Everyone has a food like that. What’s yours?”

“Kidney beans,” I replied quickly. “I like them in chili but not in salad. I have a great recipe for spicy chili that requires multiple glasses of water on standby. My grandmother made it when we were kids and”—I stopped to take a gulp of my drink before braving a look his way—“I’m sorry. You make me nervous.”

“Why, Reeve?” he purred, leaning into his elbow on the bar next to mine. “Is it because of last night?”

Meet Lane Hayes:

Lane Hayes is grateful to finally be doing what she loves best. Writing full-time! It’s no secret Lane loves a good romance novel. An avid reader from an early age, she has always been drawn to a well-told love story with beautifully written characters. These days she prefers the leading roles to both be men. Lane discovered the M/M genre a few years ago and was instantly hooked. Her debut novel was a 2013 Rainbow Award finalist and subsequent books have received Honorable Mentions, and won first prize in the 2016 and 2017 Rainbow Awards. She loves red wine, chocolate and travel (in no particular order). Lane lives in Southern California with her amazing husband in a newly empty nest.

Find Lane here: Website, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads

Enter Here for a chance to win a $20 Amazon Gift Card:   Rafflecopter Giveaway!!!

As always, Keep Writing/Keep Reading ~janisf

 

 

 

Cover Reveal and Blurb for Amy Harmon’s next novel, The Smallest Part. #onsaleFeb13

Check out this beautiful cover to Amy Harmon‘s next novel, The Smallest Part, coming February 13, 2018. 

The Smallest Part

Blurb:

“In the end, only three things matter. How much you loved, how gently you lived, and how gracefully you let go of things not meant for you.” – Unknown

It was a big lie. The biggest lie she’d ever told. It reverberated through her head as she said it, ringing eerily, and the girl behind her eyes—the girl who knew the truth—screamed, and her scream echoed along with the lie.

“Are you in love with Noah, Mercedes?” Cora asked. “I mean . . . I know you love him. You’ve been friends forever. We all have. But are you in love with him?”

If it had been anyone else—anyone—Mercedes would have stuck out her chest, folded her skinny arms, and let her feelings be known. She would have claimed him. But it was Cora. Brave, beautiful, broken Cora, and Cora loved Noah too.
So Mercedes lied.
And with that lie, she lost him. With that lie, she sealed her fate.
She was the best friend, the bridesmaid, the godmother, the glue. She was there for the good times and the bad, the ups and downs, the biggest moments and the smallest parts. And she was there when it all came crashing down.

This is the tale of the girl who didn’t get the guy.

Pre-order links:

Special pre-order price of $3.99. Price will go up to $5.95 upon release.

➜ Kindle: http://amzn.to/2jrXE06
➜ Kobo: http://bit.ly/2z90iip
➜ Nook: http://bit.ly/2yNSaQp
➜ iBooks: http://apple.co/2yNKNbn

Release date: February 13, 2018

Add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36599415-the-smallest-part

 

Cover design: By Hang Le – http://www.byhangle.com/

««««««««««««««««

About Amy Harmon:

Amy Harmon is a Wall Street JournalUSA Today, and New York Times Bestselling author. Amy knew at an early age that writing was something she wanted to do, and she divided her time between writing songs and stories as she grew. Having grown up in the middle of wheat fields without a television, with only her books and her siblings to entertain her, she developed a strong sense of what made a good story. Her books are now being published in eighteen different languages, truly a dream come true for a little country girl from Levan, Utah.

Amy Harmon has written eleven novels — the USA Today Bestsellers, The Bird and The Sword, Making Faces and Running Barefoot, as well as The Queen and The Cure, From Sand and Ash, The Law of Moses, The Song of David, Infinity + One, Slow Dance in Purgatory, Prom Night in Purgatory, and the New York Times Bestseller, A Different Blue. Her next novel, The Smallest Part, will be released February 13, 2018.

Find Amy Harmon here: WebsiteFacebookFacebook Fan GroupGoodreadsTwitterInstagramBookBub, PinterestAmy’s Newsletter Sign upAmazon.

As always, Keep Writing/Keep Reading ~janisf

 

The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen #review #onsaleJan9 #mystery

The Wife Between Us is a mystery/suspense/thriller that will keep you guessing from beginning to end.  It releases on January 9, 2018.

the wife between us

My Five Star Review

This is a spoiler-free review.  Why?  Because The Wife Between Us is a mystery/suspense/thriller and you’re going to want to go in completely blind.   Read it slowly and see if you can untangle this cleverly put together story.

In part one, I thought I had everything figured out.  It was flowing smoothly, I felt like I was getting into the characters heads and at the end, I thought, “Yes I kind of figured that’s what was happening.”

By the end of Part 2, however, all I could think was, “Smart …. Very, very, very smart and not at all what I was expecting.”

At the start of Part 3, the final part, you begin to get inside her head more but let me just say I did NOT expect what happened next.  Several things take place towards the end of the book and I truly didn’t see any of them coming.

Bravo to Greer and Sarah for putting together an extremely clever story.  I look forward to reading more by this duo.

More about The Wife Between Us

When you read this book, you will make many assumptions.
You will assume you are reading about a jealous ex-wife.
You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement – a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man they both love.
You will assume you know the anatomy of this tangled love triangle.
Assume nothing.
Twisted and deliciously chilling, The Wife Between Us exposes the secret complexities of an enviable marriage – and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.
Read between the lies.

Thank you, St Martin’s Press for the Advanced Readers Copy.

As Always, Keep Writing/Keep Reading ~ janisf

Lawless an anthology by Evernight Publishing Authors #darkromance

Evernight Publishing presents Lawless an Anthology by various Evernight authors.

 

Lawless is a dark romance and is intended for readers 18 years and older.

lawless-antho-mf_evernightpublishing-sept2017-finalimage

My Four Star Review:

I will admit, I picked up this anthology because of Sandra Bunino and her short story, Kiss of Death. I absolutely loved it just like I love everything else she has written. Her writing style is fun, smooth, extremely entertaining and I can’t help but fall in love with her characters.

So far I’ve read a few of the other stories:
Trust by Kait Gamble. She is a new author to me and I look forward to reading more of her work.
Given to a Killer by Sam Crescent – Sam is a hit or miss author for me but I truly enjoyed this story.

I still have 9 stories to read but let me say, Bravo Evernight and their authors for putting together a wonderful anthology.

More About Lawless:

Meet the hardcore heroes of LAWLESS! They’re fearless, dangerous, big on revenge, and defiantly walk on the wrong side of the law. Although their morals may be compromised, their loyalty to that one woman is never in question.

Our twelve hand-picked novellas are dark, dirty, and will make you see bad boys in a whole new light. From bikers to hitmen, these dangerous men won’t be satisfied until they have everything they came for—until they have her.

The King of South Side by Loralynne Summers
Gentleman Jackson by Nicola M. Cameron
Hungry Eyes (The Covenant) by Gwendolyn Casey
Vandal by Amber Morgan
Given to a Killer by Sam Crescent
Angel Mine by Maia Dylan
Kiss of Death (Dark Heart) by Sandra Bunino
Hitman’s Seduction by Olivia Starke
Hitman’s Angel by Elyzabeth M. VaLey
Eli Logan’s Return by Lila Shaw
Trust by Kait Gamble
The Last DiLuca by Beth D. Carter
#lawless #darkromance #HEA

Follow Evernight Publishing, FacebookTwitter

As Always, Keep Writing/Keep Reading ~ janisf

It’s FREE on Kindle: The Law of Moses by Amy Harmon #freekindlebook #sale #romance

★ ★ SURPRISE SALE ★ ★

To celebrate its upcoming publication anniversary, The Law of Moses is FREE until Saturday, November 25, 2017! (Amazon only)

Almost 1500 people read and reviewed The Law of Moses on Amazon and I am one of them.  This is one of my all-time favorite Amy Harmon books.

moses

➜ Kindle: http://amzn.to/1PYdhD7

Blurb:
Someone found him in a laundry basket at the Quick Wash, wrapped in a towel, a few hours old and close to death. They called him Baby Moses when they shared his story on the ten o’clock news – the little baby left in a basket at a dingy Laundromat, born to a crack addict and expected to have all sorts of problems. I imagined the crack baby, Moses, having a giant crack that ran down his body, like he’d been broken at birth. I knew that wasn’t what the term meant, but the image stuck in my mind. Maybe the fact that he was broken drew me to him from the start.

It all happened before I was born, and by the time I met Moses and my mom told me all about him, the story was old news and nobody wanted anything to do with him. People love babies, even sick babies. Even crack babies. But babies grow up to be kids, and kids grow up to be teenagers. Nobody wants a messed up teenager.
And Moses was messed up. Moses was a law unto himself. But he was also strange and exotic and beautiful. To be with him would change my life in ways I could never have imagined. Maybe I should have stayed away. Maybe I should have listened. My mother warned me. Even Moses warned me. But I didn’t stay away.

And so begins a story of pain and promise, of heartache and healing, of life and death. A story of before and after, of new beginnings and never-endings. But most of all . . . a love story.

Check out my FIVE star review here:  janisf five star review of Moses

#TheLawOfMoses #Free #Sale #Romance

As Always, Keep Writing/Keep Reading ~ janisf

 

Scored by Sloane Howell #comingsoon #bookreview

Scored, by Sloane Howell, is a Sports Romantic Comedy with a good dose of humor, extremely witty writing and sexy main characters.

Scored releases October 17, 2017, and is intended for readers 18 years and older.

 scored

My Five Star Review:

My first jump into the Sloane Howell world was with his other Contemporary Romantic Comedy, Bossed.  I really enjoyed Bossed and it got me completely hooked on Sloane’s fun, witty and sexy writing.  Scored, is no different.  Each of these books can be read as a stand-alone but if you enjoy a good romantic comedy then I would encourage you to read both.  There are some back-stories in Bossed that make Scored even better.

Matt Stallworth, baseball playing extraordinaire, was a very unexpected surprise.  He was nothing like I expected him to be and it was wonderful to read his story, learn his history and watch him fall in love with Kelsey Martin.  Matt had some unexpected twists in his story that brought several smiles and tears to my face.  Kelsey doesn’t know much about baseball but she loves music which is why she works in a vinyl record store. She is a free spirit., living her life, and trying to figure out her place in it.  As you can imagine, Matt comes storming into her life and convinces her to “date” him when all she really wants to do is keep her heart safe.  Their story is fun, sexy, heartwarming and has a truly wonderful happily ever after.

More about Scored:

He’s a player. But she’s about to score.
Opposites really do attract* as a sassy salesgirl turns a pro athlete’s life upside down in this supercharged standalone novel of seduction from the author of Bossed.
Kelsey: My mom would tell you I’m quite the catch, but since my last boyfriend, I haven’t been dating much. Maybe it’s my rocker style or my lack of filter that intimidates the boys. So I’m pleasantly surprised when Matt Stallworth waltzes into the indie record store where I work and gives as good he gets. Turns out Matt is a professional baseball player, which should mean he’s out of my league. But if he wants to hook up with me, he’s going to have to follow my rules.
Matt: After winning my MVP award, I learned that a guy can get used to having beautiful women practically throw themselves at you everywhere you turn. But everything changes the first time I see Kelsey Martin, and something just clicks. She’s hot, snarky, and whip-smart. I’ve got to see her again. Only problem is, she sees right through all my best moves. And I’m going to have to step up my game to convince Kelsey that I’m playing for keeps.
*And sexy times ensue—for mature audiences.

Find out more about Sloane Howell here:  WebsiteFacebookTwitterAmazonGoodreads.

Want to find out the inside scoop on Sloane and his up and coming releases? Then join his Harem on Facebook by clicking this link: Sloane Howell’s Harem

Check out my review of Bossed here: Janis’s Review.

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley.

As Always, Keep Writing/Keep Reading ~ janisf

Lethal Lies by Rebecca Zanetti (Blood Brothers Book 2) #review

Rebecca Zanetti hits the mark again in this new Paranormal Romantic Suspense series Blood Brothers with her second installment, Lethal Lies.  Blood Brothers is a spin-off from her popular Sin Brothers series.

Lethal Lies is recommended for readers 18 years and older.

lethal lies


My Five Star Review: 

Again, Let me start by saying I have not read any of Rebecca’s Sin Brothers books.  I have read just about every other book she has written but I just never picked up Sin Brothers. So my thoughts are, you don’t need to read Sin Brothers before you start the Blood Brothers Series.  I didn’t feel like I was missing out on anything that may have happened in the other series.  With that being said, I would definitely encourage you to read Deadly Silence, Blood Brother Book 1 before picking up Lethal Lies.

This series highlights three brothers, Ryker, Heath and Denver who end up in the same boys home at the age of 12.  They may not be related by blood but to these three men are most definitely brothers and will do whatever is necessary to keep each other safe. Twenty years later and they are still together running Lost Bastards Investigative Services. The case they are working on continues where it left off.  I’m not giving anything away by saying each of these men is a bit different and not in a bad way.  You’ll need to read to find out exactly what makes them different.  Each brother also has a past with a childhood they are trying to understand and a woman that changes their life.

Lethal Lies is Heath and Anya’s story.  The investigation into the killings continues with a few twist and turns thrown in.  Heath has a tendency to want to save things especially beautiful women that usually gets him and his brother in hot water.  This particular book is very case driven and I really enjoyed that.  Don’t get me wrong, the heat and chemistry are there but it’s almost second to the investigation and the additional info on the brother’s pasts.

Rebecca is an amazing writer and I’ve enjoyed many of her series.  Her characters are full of depth, I always want to cheer them on, cry with them at times and generally fall in love with every single one.  I would highly recommend all of her books.

More About Lethal Lies:

A deadly secret can’t stay buried forever . . .

Revenge. It’s the only thing that will help Anya Best sleep at night. The serial killer who murdered her sister is on the loose, and Anya will stop at nothing to put him behind bars-even use herself as bait to lure him out of hiding. But she can’t do this alone.

Private investigator Heath Jones’s job is to bring bastards to justice. This time it’s personal. He knew the Copper Killer’s latest victim so when her sister asks for his help, he’s all in. But when Anya uses the media to taunt the killer, she exposes Heath’s identity, putting them both in jeopardy. Now, secrets buried long ago are coming to light and the forces determined to destroy him are watching Heath’s every move, waiting to exact their own revenge. And they’ll use anything and anyone to get to Heath.

Find Rebecca here:  WebsiteFacebookPinterestTwitterGoodreads.

Buy Lethal Lies here: Amazon, Barnes & Noble

Reading Order:
Deadly Silence (Book 1) – Amazon, My Review
Lethal Lies (Book 2) – Amazon
Twisted Truths (Book 3) – Amazon – Releases November 14, 2017

I received a copy of this novel directly from NetGalley.

As Always, Keep Writing/Keep Reading ~ janisf