Tag Archives: young adult

Release Blitz for Justin’s Season by SM Sawyer

Release Blitz for Justin’s Season by SM Sawyer at NineStar Press.

justin's season
S. M. Sawyer takes you on an amazing journey in his debut novel Justin’s Season. Be prepared to witness a miracle and journey of discovery, hope, and love.

I would recommend this book to readers 15 years and older.

Click here to see my Five Star blog review: http://wp.me/p69RB3-ke

As Always, Keep Writing/Keep Reading ~ janisf

 

Making Faces by Amy Harmon is releasing today in stores everywhere!

Today is a big day for Amy Harmon and I’m so excited for her.

Today her book Making Faces (one of my all-time favorite books) is releasing in stores everywhere!!! If you haven’t read this book, then go out and get it. Making Faces is the kind of book with all the feels and everyone should read!

You can check out my review of Making Faces here: http://wp.me/p69RB3-4w or see all my Amy Harmon book reviews here: https://bookreviewsjanisf.com/?s=amy+harmon

making-faces-release

As Always, Keep Writing/Keep Reading ~ janisf

Strange Truths by SD Wasley an Alice England Mystery

Strange Truths is a Young Adult Novel containing social and family issues with a little bit of mystery thrown in.  This is the first book in the Alice England Mysteries.

strange-truths

My FIVE Star Review:

Alice England is a very unique character and I loved her immediately.  She’s a young woman in her senior year of school who lives with her father in a funeral parlor.  She sees things that others don’t and she always speaks the truth.  Kids in her school find her odd and basically stay away from her.  Mikey Warrender thinks she’s a bit odd as well but then Alice takes him on an adventure that changes their lives.  This is a kind of detective story with lots of twists and turns that will keep you turning the pages.

I very much look forward to more of Alice’s adventures.

More About Strange Truths:

Why did she have to be so goddamn weird?

Mikey Warrender’s goals are within his grasp. On track for a spectacular swimming career in the last months of his senior year at school, his life seems ideal. A successful Senator father, a pretty, popular sister, and a girlfriend who acts and looks, well, perfect. They’ve had their share of trouble in the form of Mikey’s late twin, but that trouble died with Toby and now things can finally get back on track.

Until Alice England. Mikey couldn’t have been less interested in a friendless undertaker’s daughter who sees strange things and always speaks the truth—until she starts stalking him at school. Alice has reason to believe Tobias Warrender was reluctant to take that fatal dose of crystal meth. What’s more, she insists Mikey is grieving for his twin. Curious, Mikey lets Alice in—just for a moment—and before he knows what’s happening she’s wedged her foot in the door and busted his world wide open.

Alice leads him through a series of discoveries that make him look more closely at his own carefully constructed reality. Innocent yet knowing; kind yet devastatingly honest, Alice effortlessly unravels Mikey Warrender’s falsely safe world—and what really happened to Toby.

Strange Truths is a coming of age detective story that will appeal to adults both young and old(er), especially lovers of classical mystery with a twist.

Find SD Wasley here: FacebookInternet WebsiteGoodreads, Amazon.

I received a copy of this book through NetGalley.

As Always, Keep Writing/Keep Reading ~ janisf

From Sand and Ash by Amy Harmon #HappyReleaseDay

From Sand and Ash by Amy Harmon is a Historical, Inspirational, Romance you are absolutely going to love.

Releases today, December 1, 2016 and recommended for readers 16 yrs and older.

from-sand-and-ash-ash

My FIVE Star Review:

I really tried to prepare myself.  I knew this was a historical novel about World War II.  I knew reading From Sand and Ash was going to be emotional, it was going to dragged me places I was sure I didn’t want to go, and I knew even before I opened it to page one, that Amy was going to make me take this journey and I was going to be changed by the end. I absolutely was.

Most people in the world know the stories of WWII.  You either learned them in school or maybe you had a parent, grandparent, aunt or uncle who lived through it.  What Amy gives you in this book is a story of two young people, Angelo and Eva, who are thrown into this horrific war and work to do whatever they can to help people.  There is laughter along the way and joy, there is family and love, there is sorrow and horror, there is commitment and trust but most of all there is determination to keep going.

Amy Harmon is Magical.  There are no other words to describe her.  She puts a pen to paper and gives us everything from deep down in her soul and I for one am truly grateful.  Each of her novels have filled me with such joy, even with a few tears.  If you don’t normally read historical novels, please do me a favor and give this one a try.  You will not regret it.

I’ll leave you with these:

“Fear is strange.
It settles on chests and seeps through skin, through layers of tissue, muscle, and bone and collects in a soul-sized black hole, sucking the joy out of life, the pleasure, the beauty.
But not the hope.
Somehow, the hope is the only thing resistant to the fear, and it is that hope that makes the next breath possible, the next step, the next tiny act of rebellion, even if that rebellion is simply staying alive.”

“Life is hard.  What an understatement! Hard is too mild a word for the trouble we’ve seen. Life is hell shot with just enough heaven to make the pains of hope all the sharper. Life is impossible. Ugly. Agonizing. Inexplicable. Torture.”

“Our immortality comes through our children and their children. Through our roots and branches. The family is immortality. And Hitler has destroyed not just branches and roots, but entire family trees, forests. All of them, gone.”

More About Sand and Ash:

Italy, 1943—Germany occupies much of the country, placing the Jewish population in grave danger during World War II.

As children, Eva Rosselli and Angelo Bianco were raised like family but divided by circumstance and religion. As the years go by, the two find themselves falling in love. But the church calls to Angelo and, despite his deep feelings for Eva, he chooses the priesthood.

Now, more than a decade later, Angelo is a Catholic priest and Eva is a woman with nowhere to turn. With the Gestapo closing in, Angelo hides Eva within the walls of a convent, where Eva discovers she is just one of many Jews being sheltered by the Catholic Church.

But Eva can’t quietly hide, waiting for deliverance, while Angelo risks everything to keep her safe. With the world at war and so many in need, Angelo and Eva face trial after trial, choice after agonizing choice, until fate and fortune finally collide, leaving them with the most difficult decision of all.

Pick up From Sand and Ash here: Amazon.

Find Amy Harmon here: Internet, FacebookGoodreads, Twitter

To read more of my reviews of Amy’s books, click here: janisf Amy reviews

As Always, Keep Writing/Keep Reading ~ janisf

 

Honesty by Seth King

Seth King’s Young Adult Novel, Honesty, releases today.

 

honesty

My Five Star Review:

Seth King has a way of telling a story by giving you words that take up residence in your heart and soul. Once the words are in there, you can’t help but feel changed.

Nicky and Coley are two 19 year old’s trying to navigate the “roads” of their lives. Obstacles, like love, family, friends, school, and the world, get in their way. They try to make their relationship work the best way they can. There are so many ups and downs for them on this roller coaster ride that it just about breaks my heart.

Two people should be allowed to love each other regardless of their gender, race, religion etc and the struggles Nicky and Coley go through are still so typical in this world. I’d like to think the world is getting better all the time but we still have a way to go.

For me personally, I ‘Honestly’ do not care that your first love was a boy. I don’t care if your fifth, sixth or current love is a boy or a girl. We love who we love. Our hearts and our souls pick who they want in their life and they love. I just wish the world would leave people alone and let them LOVE.

This book, Seth King, will change lives, help lives and make people stronger. All of your books change people and help people. Don’t ever stop writing.

I would highly recommend this book. Everyone should read it.

About Honesty:

A radiant story of first love and self-acceptance for fans of John Green, Jandy Nelson, and Rainbow Rowell
“Maybe we weren’t meant to collide. Maybe we were meant to explode.”
As a closeted teenager in the Deep South with a holy-roller father and the scars to prove it, bookworm Cole Furman has resigned himself to experiencing life and love only within the pages of his favorite novels. But after Nick Flores seems to walk off a page and starts to rewrite his story, Cole finds his dreams spinning into a dazzling – and complicated – reality.

If you have ever found yourself on the wild breathless thriller ride that is young love, Honesty will rip you back again in screaming color.

For a special personal note from Seth King click Here.

Get your copy today on Amazon – http://amzn.com/B01CDZBHZ6

Find Seth King on FacebookInstagram

As always, Keep Writing/Keep Reading ~janisf