Marshal of Hel Dorado (Fevered Hearts) by Heather Long

About the Book:

This is the first book in Heather’s Fevered Hearts series.  To me it’s a Historical Western Romance with a little paranormal thrown in.

“In the shadows of the Old West, that untamed land, live bands of outlaws and outsiders. In a time when fevers could fell whole towns, these few survivors are marked. Marked…and forever changed.
Sam Kane is the oldest brother, the steadfast son and the confident marshal. He’s never met a problem too hot to handle until a gang behind a string of robberies across the territory set their sights on his town. Now with the bank’s gold inexplicably missing from a locked safe, the town hunting the elusive thieves and a passionate redhead with a fiery secret in his jail, Sam has his hands full.
Scarlett Morning Star lived in seclusion in the mountains of West Texas most of her life. She longs for adventure, but with seven very protective older brothers, adventure is hard to come by. When she tags along uninvited on their latest escapade, she is left behind during a bank robbery and finds herself in the custody of the very sexy town marshal.
The town wants to lynch her, the Marshal wants answers and her brothers want her back, can Scarlett keep it together or will her explosive secret burn them all?
Her life. His badge. Their fight.”

My Five Star Review:

From the very first chapter, I was drawn in hook, line and sinker.  Marshal Sam Kane is a take-charge don’t-mess-with-my-town kind of guy but then in walks, or I should say rides, fiery red haired Scarlett Morning Star.  The story around these two main characters and several secondary characters is brilliant, creative, emotional and adventurous.  It amazes me how an author’s mind can create such an engaging world.   As with a typical romance novel, there is a happily ever after but it’s not without some serious twists, turns and secrets.  This is the kind of book you can’t put down.  Each turn of the page makes you want to read faster so you can find out what’s around the next corner.

You MUST read this series in order.  Each book “ends” (and it’s in quotes because it doesn’t really end) for the main couple but the story keeps on moving forward throughout each book.  Main characters and secondary characters make a wonderful reappearance and new characters are introduced.  Take my word for it, you will ABSOLUTELY love this series!!!

Reading order:

Marshal of Hel Dorado (Book 1)

Brave are the Lonely (Book 2)

Micah and Mr. Miller (Book 3)

A Fistful of Dreams (Book 4)

Raising Kane (Book 5)

Wanted Fevered or Alive (Book 6)

Wild and Fevered (Book 6.5)

The Quick and the Fevered (Book 7)

Book 8 – Coming Soon.

Find Heather Here:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s